St. Francisville, La. Home Page

20 Best Day Trip
The Town of St. Francisville Board of Aldermen met in Regular Meeting this 12th day of May 2020 at 11936 Ferdinand St., Town Hall, St. Francisville, LA. 
THE MEETING IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.  However, in accordance with Proclamation JBE 2020-33, there is a 10-person limitation on gatherings, therefore, the total attendance at the meeting will be limited to a maximum of 10 people, including the Mayor, Aldermen and support staff.  Therefore, the 10-person limit does not provide opportunity for members of the public to physically attend the entire meeting. However, in accordance with the guidance issued by the Attorney General, members of the public may view the meeting through Facebook Live on the town’s Facebook page - TOWN OF ST. FRANCISVILLE. Please email public comments to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or drop a letter in the night drop located at townhall.  Public comments must be received no later than Monday, May 12, 2020 at 5:00 P.M. Your comments will be read aloud in the meeting during the Public Comment section.  In your email, please indicate the agenda item, your first and last name, your address, and your comment.  Should you wish to speak at the meeting in person, please contact Shannon Sturgeon, Town Clerk at 225-635-3688 no later than Monday, May 12, 2020 at 5:00 P.M. to coordinate your request.  In these extraordinary times we are trying to provide the most access within the bounds of keeping our community, elected officials and employees safe as possible.  
The meeting was called to order at 5:33 p.m. with the following members present: Mayor William H. D’Aquilla, Alderman James R. Leake, Alderman Abby T. Cochran, Alderman Gigi Robertson and Alderman Susie Tully. Also, present,  Assistant Town Attorney Ben Klein, Police Chief Scott Ford, Town Clerk Shannon Sturgeon and Deputy Clerk Stacy Orr.
Absent: Alderman Bryan Kelley, Town Attorney Jesse Means and Main Street Manager Laurie Walsh.
Prayer led by: Gigi Robertson
Pledge led by: James R. Leake
Motion made by Susie Tully, seconded by Gigi Robertson to approve the minutes from the regular meeting of April 28, 2020.   All in favor, none opposed.  Motion carried.
Open Floor for Public Comment
Mayor D’Aquilla opened the floor for public comments before commencing with new business. 
No public comments were submitted via email or letter.
New Business:
1.     PEC Report – Bianca Hillhouse
Cast Iron Water Main Replacement:
Ø  Town received additional funding from FY 2020 LGAP and CWEF Grants.  PEC has commenced work on the water line project design.  The Town may need to obtain servitudes.
Water and Gas Meters Upgrade and Automation:
Ø  Under Review.
Wastewater Treatment Plant Relocation:
Ø  Preliminary analysis for the plant’s relocation is continuing, including research of potential plant sites and force main routes.  All abstract work has been completed.  Waiting on property survey.
Ø  Town is continuing to pursue funding avenues for the project.  A State Capital Outlay application was submitted, and other potential grants/loans are being vetted, such as but not limited to, Clean Water State Revolving Fund, Rural Development Program, and State-Wide Flood Control Program
Commerce Street Drainage Improvements:
Ø  Re-evaluating plan to accommodate overall area drainage.  All survey field work has been completed. 
2.    Resolution 2020-5A Resolution in Opposition of all Proposed Legislation that Enables the Legislature to Remove the Authority of Local Governments to Administer and Collect Local Sales & Use Taxes.
Motion made by Susie Tully, seconded by James R. Leake to approve Resolution 2020-5.  All in favor, none opposed.  Motion carried.
3.    Resolution 2020-7 A Resolution to Prepare an Application for the DOTD
Statewide Flood Control Program
Motion made by Gigi Robertson, seconded by Abby T. Cochran to approve Resolution 2020-7.  All in favor, none opposed.  Motion carried.
4.     Discuss New Mayor’s Salary
Preliminary survey findings were shared with the Board of Aldermen.  Shannon will continue contacting towns with similar populations to request their salary information for Mayor and Aldermen.
5.     Discuss Installing a Walk-Up Service Window at Town Hall Office
The office submitted a request to consider installing a walk up service window next to the existing night drop to accommodate customers that did not want to park and walk into the office.  After discussion, the item was tabled until drawing and cost estimated could be provided for review.
6.     Departmental Updates – Mayor D’Aquilla
a.     Mayor’s Comments – Mayor D’Aquilla
b.     Police Report- Chief Scott Ford.
c.     Legal Update – Assistant Town Attorney Ben Klein
d.     Permitting & Planning Updates – Written report by Building Official, Don Simmons.
e.     Main Street Report – Written report from Main Street Manager, Laurie Walsh
7.     Adjournment
Motion made by Abby T. Cochran, seconded by James R. Leake to adjourn the meeting at 6:05 p.m.  All in favor, none opposed.  Motion carried.
_____________________                                                      _________________________
Shannon Sturgeon, Clerk                                                        William H. D’Aquilla, Mayorlatest Nike Sneakers | NIKE HOMME

Minutes - Town Aldermen